Learning - Structure of Curriculum

Students in Year 7 are introduced to the eight key learning areas that they will study until Year 10.

Year 7 to Year 10 focuses on nine key learning areas:

  • Religion
  • English
  • Human Society and its Environment
  • Languages- Japanese
  • Mathematics
  • Personal Development, Health & Physical Education
  • Science
  • Creative Arts
  • Technology

Within these key learning areas there are mandatory courses and elective subjects. Elective subjects are offered from Year 9. Mandatory Courses in Years 7-10  are studied by all students at St Francis De Sales Regional College and are set by the Board of Studies.

Students choose from a wide range of elective courses that are offered. These are driven by teacher expertise and the number of students interested in that subject. Information on elective courses is available in the Board of Studies syllabus course descriptions.

Students must meet the subject requirements in Years 7-10 in order to progress to Year 11 and subsequently, Year 12.

Record of School Achievement

Students that leave school prior to sitting for the HSC will receive a Record of School Achievement. This is a document issued by the NSW Board of Studies that records the student’s overall achievements. It is cumulative and comprehensive. The Record of School Achievement contains information about a student’s academic progress as well as extra-curricular activities. This is designed to meet the needs of students and employers.

HSC Courses

There are two types of courses students can study:

Board developed courses

These courses are set and externally examined by the Board of Studies, and may contribute to the calculation of a Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR).

These include courses in English, mathematics, science, technology, creative arts, personal development, health and physical education, human society and its environment, languages and Vocational Education and Training (VET) curriculum frameworks.

A list of the subjects available and a description of each course are on the Board of Studies website.

Students are also able to access courses through the Diocese of Lismore Online Education Centre.

Board endorsed courses

These courses are developed by schools, TAFE institutes or universities. They count towards the HSC but do not count towards the calculation of an Australian Tertiary Admissions Rank (ATAR).

Vocational Education and Training Courses

Vocational Education and Training (VET) courses are either Board developed courses, which may contribute to the calculation of an ATAR, or Board endorsed courses.

VET courses give students work-related skills in a variety of industry areas. Students will receive a nationally recognised qualification when they complete their course.

VET courses are studied at school and involve work placement each year.

Board developed VET courses are available in a number of industry curriculum frameworks, such as business services, hospitality, construction, metals and engineering and information technology.